function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
vviyervviyer 

Simple VF Wizard problem

Hi

Im a novice in VF and coding. Im writing a simple wizard for the Volunteer Management App. Add event info in step1, then click 'add participants" to go to participants to add participants.SFDC_Volunteer_Event__c (master) and SFDC_Volunteer_Participant__c(detail) are the objects. I have done this with a custom controller to replace the Events tab and it works!.

However, since I want to use the VF page to replace the "new" button, I need to use the standard controller and write an extension(right?).

2 VF pages VMXpage1, VMXPage2. 1 extension VMExtension.cls

Currently, I have only setup step 2, to add ONE participant, but I would like to extend it to add (like 'add row?". need inputs on how to do that too). but primarily, Im getting the error

Visualforce Page: /apex/VMXPage1

System.TypeException: Invalid conversion from runtime type SOBJECT:SFDC_Volunteer_Event__c to SOBJECT:SFDC_Volunteer_Participant__c

Class.VMExtension.<init>: line 9, column 21
External entry point

------------

Here is the code

public class VMExtension{

SFDC_Volunteer_Event__c vevent;

SFDC_Volunteer_Participant__c vpart1;

public VMExtension(ApexPages.StandardController stdController){
this.vevent=(SFDC_Volunteer_Event__c)stdController.getRecord();
this.vpart1=(SFDC_Volunteer_Participant__c)stdController.getRecord();
}

public PageReference event(){
return Page.VMXPage1;
}

public PageReference addparts(){
return Page.VMXPage2;
}

public PageReference saveevent(){
insert vevent;
vpart1.Volunteer_Event__c=vevent.id;
insert vpart1;
PageReference veventPage = new PageReference('/'+vevent.id);
veventPage.setRedirect(true);
return veventPage;
}
}
------
Here is the VF page

<apex:page standardController="SFDC_Volunteer_Event__c" extensions="VMExtension">