function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
SL TanSL Tan 

Apex Test Method for Public List - Need Help

Hi

I wonder if anyone can help me to advise on the test method  I should be using to test the following apex class. I am quite new to writing the test methods into the apex classes I have created and is at a loss at to how to solve for a public list query as below;

Any pointers will be highly appreciated.

Thanks and Best Regards

SL

public List<Contact> getMyContacts() {
return [SELECT Id, Name, Account.Name FROM Contact
];
}
Best Answer chosen by Admin (Salesforce Developers) 
SL TanSL Tan

Dear Ron

Sorry for my delayed acknowledgement. Thank you for your guide and I am pleased to inform you that I have successfully done the Test Method achieving 100% coverage in the process, by understanding and modifying the first sample you gave. Your help is highly appreciated.

Thanks and Best Regards

SL 

All Answers

Ron HessRon Hess

this is a simple test method, only verifies that a list is produced

public class try2 { static testMethod void t1() { account a = new Account( name='foo') ; insert a; contact c = new Contact( lastname='bar', accountid=a.id); insert c; try2 myclass = new try2(); List<Contact> l = myclass.getMyContacts(); system.assert( l.size() > 0 ); } public List<Contact> getMyContacts() { return [SELECT Id, Name, Account.Name FROM Contact limit 10 ]; } }

SL TanSL Tan

Dear Ross

Thanks for your kind feedback. I tried to incorporate the test method you have provided into my apex class as follows and the apex class is saved nicely.