function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
sonaperthsonaperth 

Grabbing other fields of object from lookup button.

hi guys, im very new in salesforce, i have just done reading the force.com_developer guide.

and i got a question.

if i have 2 objects:

1. course, fields = id, name, duration.

2. class, fields = courseName(course lookup), duration, startDate, endDate

and when i create a new class, after i choose the course using the lookup button,

i want to grab the duration of the course as well and put it in the class.duration field before clicking the Save button, just doing it on the interface level if i may say.

can anyone help me?

or maybe a suggestion which guide should i read next after the first one?

thanks in advance.

Best Answer chosen by Admin (Salesforce Developers) 
CcroninCcronin

Hi Sonaperth,

Np. have a look at this http://community.salesforce.com/sforce/board/message?board.id=Visualforce&message.id=15543

The bottom post should be enough to get you coding a solution. :D

ps Anand, he posted it on the Visualforce Developer Board so i assume he is looking for a VF solution.  Plus he also mentioned 'put it in the class.duration field before clicking the Save button' which i took as he wanted to see it on the screen before he clicked the save button which to me says AJAX (correct me if i am wrong sonaperth) 

All Answers

CcroninCcronin

Hi-ya Sonaperth,

The Guide you are looking for is the Visualforce Developers Guide, specifically the Section 'Using AJAX in a Page' around p38.

Basically you will have an extended controller or a custom controller that will use ajax to pull data from the Course Record, then populate that to a class record.

All the best!

sonaperthsonaperth

hi Ccronin,

thanks for the reply, ive tried to read the AJAX section, havent read the whole book tho.