function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
JohnC.JohnC. 

Custom Button to create a new record on a separate object with passed data

I am new to Visual Force and I have what I feel like shouldn't be that difficult of a task.  On the Event object I am trying to create a button that when a user clicks it will create a record on a custom object.  Anyone have any suggestions as to how to get this process off the ground? 

ministe2003ministe2003

Hi,

I think you can only do this with some apex coding.  Is the Event object a custom object you've made?

What you want to do is create a visualforce page with your button on, write a class in Apex and set this as the Controller and on the button's action prompt, write something like action={!createRecord} where createRecord() is a method in your class which creates your record and inserts in into the database.

Alternatively instead of creating a whole custom page you can just create a custom Button on your object and use some javascript to invoke the method.

SteveBowerSteveBower

Are you just trying to have a record be created as a background task (in which case I think the previous answer is correct), or are you trying to have a record be created and then be brought there to edit the new record? (in which case there is an easier answer.)  Best, Steve

JohnC.JohnC.

Steve,

Your second assumption is correct.  I am trying to take data in fields on a Event record and pass it to a new record on a custom object on button click.  What is the easiest way to accomplish that?  I am sifting through the developer guide for Apex and Visualforce but with little success.

SteveBowerSteveBower

Yes, you would think that something as basic as this would be well and easily documented, but no.