function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
kmadminkmadmin 

Mapping Fields Between a Standard and a Custom Object using Visualforce

Hi,

I have a need to copy data from a standard object (Opportunity) to a related custom object (Proposal) when "New Proposal" button is clicked on the Proposal related list on the Opportunity detail page.

I think my only two options are Visualforce page and s-control. Considering s-controls will be retiring soon, I think my only option is Visualforce. However, I am a Visualforce novice and want to know the following:

Can I create a visualforce page without any user interface by overriding "New" button on the custom object (Proposal) that will allow me to take data from standard object (Opportunity) fields and copy it to related custom object (Proposal) fields?

If the answer is Yes, can you get me started with some details or a code sample on how to do this?

Thanks.

mtbclimbermtbclimber

What do you mean by "without any user interface"? 

You can override the new action for proposal or create a custom button on opportunity but in either case your user is going to end up on a visualforce page. Any attempt to redirect back to the standard new/edit form is going to lose the info you wanted to default.  If you are OK with going to a Visualforce page this example may be helpful:

http://wiki.developerforce.com/index.php/Visualforce_Quote2PDF

If you are not then I don't think what you are looking for can be achieved using any supported technology.

kmadminkmadmin

When I say "Without any user interface", I mean a pass-through page.

What I don't want to do is to design the custom object deetail page. Instead, just use the standard detail page.

Here is what I am visualizing:

1) On opportunties detail page I have a related section called "Proposals" that refers to the related custom object.