function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
src0010src0010 

Sum value that is within apex:repeat

Well, I was finally able to get one of my related lists (Cases), which is part of a custom object (X360_Contract_Cycle__c), to display properly.  I am using apex:repeat to iterate and display the related list information.  So far that is working great!  Now I am trying to figure out the best solution to SUM on of the values within the related list/apex:repeat.  The value I am trying to SUM is {!cx.Case_Hours__c}.  I included a snippet of the code below.  I am wondering if I can include the logic directly on the VisualForce page or would I need to create a custom Apex class?  Any suggestions would be much appreciated as I am still learning.  Thanks! 

<apex:page standardController="X360_Contract_Cycle__c"    showHeader="false"  renderAs="pdf">

<tr>
                    <td>Case Number</td>
                    <td>Case Subject</td>
                    <td>Case Hours</td>
                </tr>

<apex:repeat var="cx" value="{!X360_Contract_Cycle__c.Cases__r}">

<tr>
                        <td>{!cx.CaseNumber}</td>
                        <td>{!cx.Subject}</td>
                        <td>{!cx.Case_Hours__c}</td>

<apex:variable var="Total" value="{SUM(!cx.Case_Hours__c}"/>

<td>{!Total}</td>

</tr>

</apex:repeat>

</apex:page>

Best Answer chosen by Admin (Salesforce Developers) 
Ispita_NavatarIspita_Navatar

You can do the following:-
   1. You can have a trigger on case on inset, delete, update event you can modify the sum of Cx_Case_Hours__c  in this trigger.
   2. Also you can use java script code to find the repeat column values and add them through  loop which will display in the html variable
   3. Or can use a separate function in your controller for the above calculation.