function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
ali abdullahali abdullah 

passing parameters from visual force to Controller is not working , its showing Null value.

hello,

i am new to visual force and apex and will appreciate the help on below.

i created a table in VF and retrieving the data like consultants , no of project and no of tasks from from the controller. its working fine but i need to click one of the consultants from the list above to get the detail report on the other page. i am trying to pass some parameters once "Onclick" function is performed but its returning null when i am clikcing on one of the consultant to get the reports on new page. below is my VF page.

Visual Force Page :

<apex:page controller="Consultant_Information">

<script type="text/javascript">
      function loadReports(Alias){
        if(typeof AF_LoadReports  == "function") {AF_LoadReports(Alias);}
      }
  </script>

<apex:form >
  <apex:actionFunction name="AF_LoadReports" action="{!loadReports}" >
  <apex:param name="Alias" assignTo="{!Alias1}" value="" />    
  </apex:actionFunction>
  <apex:pageBlock title="Consultant Summary" >
  <apex:PageBlockSection columns="1" >
 <apex:pageBlockTable value="{!Items}" var="item">

<apex:column headerValue="Consultant" value="{!item.theUser.Name}" onclick="javascript&colon;AF_LoadReports('{!item.theUser.Alias}')"/>
<apex:column headerValue="Department" value="{!item.theUser.Division}"/>
<apex:column headerValue="Active Projects" value="{!item.noProjects}"/>
<apex:column headerValue="Active Tasks" value="{!item.noTasks}"/>
<apex:column headerValue="Last Login Date" value="{!item.theUser.LastLoginDate}"/>
</apex:pageBlockTable>
  </apex:PageBlockSection>

</apex:pageBlock>

</apex:form>
  </apex:page>

and below is my controler

public with sharing class Consultant_Information {