function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
Andrei KuznetsovAndrei Kuznetsov 

Updating Contacts associated with Account

Hello! I'm new to salesforce and just received my first sophisticated task. Our org is quite plane and I can't find any good examples of Visualforce pages and apex code. Here is my task and if anyone has done something similar, please advice me how to approach it.

On Account standard screen I need to place button, let's call it 'Use Account Address'. Clicking on this button should open up VF page that list all the Contacts for this Account. Beside each Contact record there should be check box. There should be also 'Update Selected' button on this page, clicking on which will update all selected Contacts with Account's address and return user back to Account page.

Thanks a lot in advance!

Best Answer chosen by Andrei Kuznetsov
rmehrmeh

Hi,

First of all, i was also in doubt whether select 'selectedContacts' contains value, thats why i asked you.

However i dont know why the getContacts() is being called twice.

Are you using rerender attribute twice? This is the only possibilty i can think of.

Apart from that in the getSelectedFunction iterate "lstFinalContactWrapper" list instead of  "contactList" list and check after putting debug values check whether you get values in selectedContacts.

The value should come here as you are using the above list while you are updating the records.

Let me know after making changes, it works or not.

All Answers

rmehrmeh

Hi,

Can you just post the code of whatever you have done uptil now

This will help us understand better what problem you are facing.

Yes, of course. I placed button on Account layout 'Use Account Address'. Clicking on it calls the following Visual Force page.

========================================================================================