function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
DBManagerDBManager 

Sum value from within Repeat tag

I am fairly new to Visualforce, and am trying to get to grips with the more complex sides, such as Custom controllers and extensions, etc. 

I have been looking at this problem for a while, and have found a few possible solutions, though none have worked.

The problem:

I am trying to create a list of invoices that can be generated for any particular Account. The list setup is fine, an I am happy with it. What I lack is a final total of the 'Gross Unpaid' column.

Possible solutions:

Following a lot of research, I found the following page:

Sum value that is within apex:repeat

Which suggested there were three ways to do this:

1. You can have a trigger on case on inset, delete, update event you can modify the sum of Cx_Case_Hours__c  in this trigger.
2. Also you can use java script code to find the repeat column values and add them through  loop which will display in the html variable
3. Or can use a separate function in your controller for the above calculation.

I have now tried all of these, with no joy.

No.1

This didn't work because Trigger wasn't being fired correctly

No. 2

I got an example from this page:

How to Count and Sum the Items and display it outside the apex:repeat

But it didn't work for me (not sure why, it just didn't bring back any values).

No.3

I tried pages like this one:

Can't figure out how to display a simple SUM function on my VF Page

But I'm not confident enough with Extensions to implement it, and the errors I got were a mystery to me!

Can anyone advise a good solution to do this.

My code is below - just to confirm, I want to finish the page with a sum of the Sales_Invoice__r.Gross__c field where Sales_Invoice__r.Status__c = 'Unpaid'.

Hope someone can help. Here's my page: