function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
cduncombe44cduncombe44 

Custom Button issue

Hi,

I'm somewhat new to VF and am running into a very simple (i assume) issue.  I have created a custom object Member Profile that has a master detail relationship with contacts.

I wrote a trigger that creates a new profile each time a new contact is created, and made sure each contact can have 1 and only 1 profile.

Right now the profile is shown in a related list on the contact page.  I want to create a button that brings the user to the detail page of the member profile.

I created a very simple VF member_profile page here

<apex:page standardController="Member_Profile__c">

<apex:detail relatedList="false"/>

</apex:page>

Then I added a custom button to the contacts page simply directing to a URL of....

/apex/member_profile?id={!Contact.Member_Profile__c}

but when I click on the button, it brings me to a new page and gives me this error

Insufficient Privileges
You do not have the level of access necessary to perform the operation you requested. Please contact the owner of the record or your administrator if access is necessary. 

But if I look at the URL, it doesnt have the id of the member profile, it has the name of the profie.  If i try to add the .id like below

/apex/member_profile?id={!Contact.Member_Profile__c.Id}

It tells me that that field doesnt exist.

I'm sure that I'm doing something simple and stupid, but its driving me crazy that I can't figure it out.  It seems like such a simple thing to want to have a button navigate to another objects detail page.  PLEASE HELP

Thanks,

Chris

ritika@developerforceritika@developerforce

Hi Chris,

1. For using Id field, user the relationship notation -

Contact.Member_Profile__r.Id