function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
heguangmheguangm 

best way to auto-populate fields calling javascript functions in edit form?

I have three custom fields for one built-in object say ObjA. I would like to fiell Custom Field C when end-user changes values of custom field A and/or B in the edit form of ObjA, before the object is saved.

I will call javascript function to do that.

What is the easiest way to do this? I am new to Salesforce. I expect something like this: create a javascript file with my functions, associate it with the object edit form (maybe some customization to the object/form).

Thanks,

Ritesh AswaneyRitesh Aswaney

It would be easier just to have a workflow which sets the value on the dependant field based on the value of the controlling field.

The values would be set before they are saved, so unless it is a requirement to see the visual change in values whilst the user is filling in values, a workflow is more desirable.

Also consider dependant picklists, if the values are fixed rather than free text.

heguangmheguangm

Appreciate your quick response.

I do require to see the new value applied to the custom field C on the edit form as soon as any changes made to the dependent fields.

The trigger/workflow not ideal is obvious. The picklist does not work, the custom field C's value is arbitrary not from a fixed set of value.

Any new idea?

I am really looking for the best way to insert a field control change event handler. This is easy in normal web page development.

prolly have a visualforce section in your page, which has embedded javascript to toggle the values - this is if you're looking to leverage stuff off the standard salesforce layout.

if you're open to customsiation, then prolly visualforce the whole page

heguangmheguangm