function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
West415West415 

New to SF - problem with using component in my Visual Force Page

Hi,

I'm new to developing applications with salesforce and have a question that I was hoping someone could understand.  I do have some general programming experience, but just not within salesforce.

I cloned an existing Visual Force Page and it works fine for the most part, but when I add this component to the page and tried to run the page in my browser I get a default maintenance page.  There obviously is an error or something is not referenced that needs to be in my page.  Below is the snippet where I have this component being declared.

<div id="accordion_menu">
      <div>
           <as2:SampleMenu ></as2:SampleMenu>
       </div>
  </div>

If I remove "  <as2:SampleMenu ></as2:SampleMenu>" the page runs fine, but when I added the above component reference (hope I'm saying that right) I get the default maintenance page saying  "Sorry for the inconvenience. We'll be back shortly. Please email us if you need to get in touch."

This error/maintenance page isn't helpful at all so I'm somewhat fishing in terms of what could be wrong.   This component is used in the VF page that I cloned and works there, but it's not working for me in my new page. 

1. Is there somewhere I need to map components to the page or something to make them available or something else I need to check for, some reference maybe?

2. Is there a way to get more meaningful error messages when something goes wrong like this?

AJSFDCAJSFDC

Are you trying include custom component in your VF page. If yes below is the syntax.

<c:compName record="Account" />

West415West415

Yes, I'm trying to include the custom component, but two things.