function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
ChopkinsChopkins 

Desktop Flow Designer - Data source not returning data

Hi all,

I'm new to the Desktop Flow Designer and am trying to use a data source element with an advanced script to pull all contacts for a specific account.  I have created a choice lookup then then uses the data source to populate the choices.

Everything works fine if I use the "I will select the table with the data" option for the data source.  Contacts all day long in the choice lookup.

However, if I switch over to "I will write an advanced script" I get no results at all in the choice lookup.

Here's what the datasource query looks like:

SELECT AccountID, Id, LastName, Name, Contact_Type__c
FROM Contact
WHERE (AccountID= 'XXXXX')
ORDER BY Name

I replace the XXXX with the value of the AccountID which I've verified as correct - just can't get any data.

And it is killing me, people.  I need data.  I must have it to survive.

Can anyone help?

Chopkins

markross__cmarkross__c

Reminds me of that line in Sherlock Holmes... "Data, data, data, I cannot make bricks without clay!"

A couple things to try:

Have you tried both the 15-character and the 18-character form of the Account ID? I've found that sometimes the Desktop Flow Designer wants one in some places, and the other in other places.

Also, from your description, it sounds like you could do this without an advanced script. You should be able to define a Constant, putting your Account ID there, and in your Choice Lookup add a filter that restricts the data so that AccountID equals YourConstantName.

ChopkinsChopkins

Man, the 5 minutes that it took me to get the 18-character AccountID were exciting!  Turns out, based on a DataLoader extract, you're right - the AccountID being stored in Contact is 18 characters.