function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
bmartinez76bmartinez76 

S-Control for Opportunity Object

Hello everyone.  I am new to these boards and to S-Controls.  I am not a programmer per say,but I have been assigned to role of admin for my company.  I have so far done a great job setting up the objects and creating simple formulas and validation rules.  I am now trying to create a process in the opportunity tab that will fetch the renewal billing month from the account object and place it in the opportunity renewal billing month field. So when entering an opportunity, the person would look up the company and then once selected the S-Control would search the account object for that company and retrieve the renewal billing information and paste it on the opportunity.  I was told that an S-Control can achieve this.  If anyone can lead me in the right direction it would be greatly appreciated.  Thank you in advance.
sfdcfoxsfdcfox
Probably, you'd want a button to do that (Setup | App Setup | Customize | Opportunities | Buttons and Links). That said, your code would look something like what follows.

Code:
{!RequireScript("/soap/ajax/9.0/connection.js")}
function updateOpportunity()
{ if("{!Opportunity.AccountId}" == "") // They didn't select an account!
    return
  // Get the account billing information.
  Account = sforce.connection.retrieve("BillingStreet,BillingCity,BillingState,BillingPostalCode,BillingCountry","Account",["{!Opportunity.AccountId}"])
  // Create an object to represent the opportunity.
  Opportunity = new sforce.SObject("Opportunity"]
  // Populate the ID and the fields we're updating.
  Opportunity["Id"] = "{!Opportunity.Id}"
  Opportunity["Billing_Street__c"] = Account["BillingStreet"]
  Opportunity["Billing_City__c"] = Account["BillingCity"]
  Opportunity["Billing_State__c"] = Account["BillingState"]