function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
calvin_nrcalvin_nr 

Help needed with record level security in Salesforce

Hi guys,

I am new to Salesforce and have been working on the customer portal.

I am struggling with something that should have been straight forward.

How can I restrict users from seeing custom object records which share the same account as them?

Example: We have a Settlement custom object. The org wide security default is Private. When these records are processed, they are owned by a "process queue" so sharing based on the owner is ruled out for now.

What I need to have is, If a settlement record's account is to Account A, customer portal users belonging to Account A should be able to see it.

Even Sharing rules don't help as the criteria does not even display Account and even if it did I cannot make this dynamic as the criteria can compare against only static values.

So what are the best practices around sharing of this nature? How is record level security achieved?

As of now I understand I might need apex sharing rules but I am trying to see if I am not missing something.

pkurapkura

Were you able to solve this issue ?

Starz26Starz26

You say:

How can I restrict users from seeing custom object records which share the same account as them?

Then

What I need to have is, If a settlement record's account is to Account A, customer portal users belonging to Account A should be able to see it.

So should they or should they not be able to see it.

Also, is the relationship a lookup or master detail? Also, I believe that you can set the record to private if owned by a queue based on this statement: In fact I just tested and you can set OWD to private if owner is a queue