function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
LoobLoob 

Using REST to export pre-defined Salesforce Report

I cannot find the answer to my question in the boards, and I am very new to SF, so please be gentle with me!

I have used REST before, but not with SF, and I am just starting. I already have some reports defined in SF, and I want to run an Excel VBA script to download the results of these four reports into Excel (I will be doing this once a week).

The documentation I have been able to understand keeps talking about SQL. I understand SQL, but since the report is already defined to SF, surely there is a way to specify that's what I want? Or do I simply have to rewrite the extract using SQL?

Sorry again if this has already been asked, but I could not find it.

Thanks for listening.

Best Answer chosen by Admin (Salesforce Developers) 
vbsvbs
Loob - There are multiple ways to achieve this:
1. Schedule your report and email to users as required. This can be Excel formatted or CSV.
2. Use Office Connect tool as an Add-in in Excel to run queries and download data directly to Excel sheets.
3. Use Apex data loader to export data if required in CSV format and using plain SOQL (SQL like native query language for Salesforce platform)

Based on your expertise in Salesforce options 1&2 are the easiest to use.

All Answers

vbsvbs
Loob - There are multiple ways to achieve this:
1. Schedule your report and email to users as required. This can be Excel formatted or CSV.
2. Use Office Connect tool as an Add-in in Excel to run queries and download data directly to Excel sheets.
3. Use Apex data loader to export data if required in CSV format and using plain SOQL (SQL like native query language for Salesforce platform)

Based on your expertise in Salesforce options 1&2 are the easiest to use.
This was selected as the best answer
LoobLoob