function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
Erich.WeihrauchErich.Weihrauch 

Using an S-Control to send a prescribed email to a prescribed user?

Would it be possible to use the s-control to create a button that when clicked, automatically sends an email to a prescribed user?  This control would also ideally be placed within a case, and when pressed, it would send the prescribed user the initial case details (e.g. initial case description).  Is this possible? How do I do this? I'm a bit new to scripting with S-Controls and such and the demos here on Salesforce didn't quite do it for me.

Thanks!

Greg HGreg H
This is possible and difficult to explain in a single post. At a high level I would create a button on the page layout and link that button to a custom sControl.  The sControl would reside inside the frame of the page and basically look like the "Send an Email" task screen except not allow for other template selection and actually illustrate the message that will be sent to the prescribed address you mention. On this screen they would be able to confirm that they want to actually send the message. Upon confirmation you could use the API to send your email and then redirect the user back to the case detail page.

To make this thing really useful I would suggest using an inline sControl instead of a button on your case detail page and in the sControl I would mimic a button.  Then in that code I would only display the button if the message you are prompting for was not yet sent.

I don't know of a document or a demo that actually illustrates this but I'm sure you could get someone to build it for you if you posted this on the jobs board or something.
-greg
Here is what I have so far..but it's throwing a syntax error...

<script src="/soap/ajax/9.0/connection.js" type="text/javascript"></script>
<script>