function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
DemintDemint 

How to create a dependent lookup

Hi

I am fairly new to Force.com development and have hit an issue trying to build some relationships on a custom object.

I have an 'Assessment' custom object with a custom lookup field to a 'Claim' custom object.  I want to build a further custom lookup field on Assessment: 'Claim Contact' that looks up from another custom object, but this object is the detail in a master-detail relationship with the Claim object. 

I want to know how to constrain the 'Claim Contact' lookup so that it only shows values that are related to the Claim that has already been looked up on to the Assessment.

i.e. if the Assessment is linked to Claim A, which has child Contacts Jack and Jill, then these should be the only contacts I am able to pick using the 'Claim Contact' lookup on the Assessment.  If the assessment is not linked to any Claim then I need the lookup to return no results.

Is there a configuration solution to this or if not does anyone know what the best approach is to do this?

Many thanks in advance!

Best Answer chosen by Admin (Salesforce Developers) 
SteveBowerSteveBower

Lookups hav no filtering capability at the moment.  So, no, you can't restrict the Assesment lookup to only the Contacts related to the Claim.

Of course if you want to write Apex code you could implement an override for the Edit page which would use the standard controller for all aspects of the page except for the lookup.  For the lookup filed the controller could create a picklist of the Contact that are appropriate for the claim and let the user select just from those.  When the user saves the record, the chosen contact would be copied to the lookup field.