function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
LizLiz 

sforce explorer

Hi

I have at last managed to download sforce explorer but I am not an IT developer and would like to know if there are some layman's instructions. I use Sforce connector a great deal but need to expand it's functionality.  If someone could help it would be great.

Thanks

Liz

bbs3bbs3
I downloaded it too, extracted the ZIP file and just run Setup.exe (on Windows) and it did everything on its own.
To login in into it, I used my sforce developer ID and Password (the same one I login into https://www.sforce.com/login.jsp).
LizLiz

Thanks - I managed all the installation but I am looking for some documentation on how to use the tool.  Do you know if there is any please?

Cheers

Liz

DevAngelDevAngel

Hi Liz,

There is no documentation and I doubt there ever will be.

Although this tool is for developers, feel free to use it.  There is an overview of the explorer on the CRM Success site.  http://salesforce.breezecentral.com/p93111413/?start=36

Briefly, the things you can do are:

• View all aspects of you schema (tables and permissions etc).
  • Test SOQL syntax.  The sforce Explorer schema browser will help build select list by clicking the check box next to a field.
  • Test SOSL syntax.  This works in a similar way as the SOQL Tester.
  • Edit data directly from the Data Editor tab.  This allows you to edit your data in a simple grid (spreadsheet like) format.  Data edits include new and deleted records and are permanent.  Be careful.
  • DB Replication is useless to an end user, but it demonstrates how to use a couple of API calls.
  • The Documents tab is pretty good.  It provides a ui for accessing your documents and folders.  It supports double-click to launch a document and full drag and drop into and out of folders.