function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
NYCMeghanNYCMeghan 

S-Control Display Help

First off I preface by saying that I am not a developer, however with a shortage of developer talent at my firm I have taken on some projects a bit over my head.

I have created a custom object that is essentially a quota tracker.  As part of the ability to track monthly achievements, I want to include some information on monthly commission payout information.  I've got the custom fields to track monthly achievement metrics, where I am having trouble is with the display of monthly payout info (we pay our sales reps their commission when we receive the first half of a 2 invoice deal)

I have an S-Control that shows all closed/won opportunities for all reps in a given month (dates hardcoded).  When I change it to a specific userID it limits the results to that user - makes sense.  However, while the query works in apex explorer, it renders a blank section on the page layout.

The bigger issue is that I don't want to have to hardcode the userid into 12 separate s-controls and create 16 separate record types off of this object (16=number of salespeople).

Is it possible to generate the results off of a user ID related field?  The custom object (Quota Management) is related to both the opportunity and User via lookups.  I can't create a Master/Detail between it and opportunities as we already have several years worth of opportunities established.  Each Quota Management record can have multiple opportunities, so a Master/Detail off of the opportunity won't work either.

And yes, I realize that this can probably be very easily achieved using visualforce, but when I tried to create the standard controller and custom extension I nearly tore my hair out.