function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
icbomber38icbomber38 

S Control - Change Opportunity Layout on Close Won

I've been getting some help from one of the SFDC people (which has been great compared to previous experiences).  We're trying to archive Won opps and they gave me some java for an s-control that was designed to do the same thing for cases:

<script language="JavaScript">

function redirect() {

var retURL = escape("/{!Opportunity_ID}");

parent.frames.location.replace("/{!Opportunity_ID}/s?retURL="; + retURL +"&RecordType=012300000000AA3" )

}

redirect();

</script>

I went ahead and created a new page layout (basically making all the field read only) but, as a complete novice, I have no idea what to do next.  She recommended I come here for more help - any guidance would be greatly appreciated.  The code in RED makes no sense to me - is that being grabbed from the record when the s-control is executed?

Thank you,

Lee
Ron HessRon Hess
The name=value pair in red is trying to change the record type of the opportunity / case to a new record type.

you will have to edit the actual ID to match the record type id to one that you want to end up with when the custom link is finished running.

you can get this ID from your system, but you need to have the record type defined, and the new page layout specified as the layout which will appear when records have this record type.

to get this ID , go to a record, click [change] next to the record type field on the layout, then look in the address bar for the ID, it should be there somewhere, you may have to add the record type field to one of your layouts.
icbomber38icbomber38

Ron - I went ahead and set everything up.  I click on the Custom Link ARCHIVE I created and I get this text framed in the SFDC tabs: