function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
PradPrad 

SControl question

Hi, Im a newbie to Salesforce, and I need to build a simple SControl rather quickly.

I am able to use merge fields to reference the data from the object (say, Opportunity) and display a form in the SControl. Is there a way I can post back data from SControl to the parent object - that is, I want to save certain changes made by the user in the SControl into the opportunity fields. Is this possible?

If so, how can I point the SControl form submit action to the Opportunity tab? The {!Scontrol_URL} takes me to the same page again. Also, I tried using some server-side (ASP) script in the SControl, and it does not seem to work. Can someone point me to a right direction? Thanks.
andyCandyC
Have you tried the AJAX toolkit - have a look at this presentation for starters http://www.crmsuccess.com/browse/content_detail.jsp?id=006300000034wf6AAA

PradPrad
Thanks Andy. I started using the AJAX kit, and am able to use simple login calls and execute SELECT queries using Query method. But, how do I update data using SOQL - it does not seem to support UPDATE statements?? I need to update the data from my S-Control into the parent custom object record. Is there another way to do this without SOQL? Thanks.
andyCandyC

It's not SOQL that performs updates or creates, you code it directly using a Dynabean - see example javascript below:  

For create:          

var newOpp   = new Sforce.Dynabean("Opportunity");
var oppArray = new Array(1);

newOpp.set("CloseDate",   new Date());
newOpp.set("Name",        "something");
oppArray[0] = newOpp;

var cr = sforceClient.Create(oppArray);         opportunityID = cr[0].id;

For an update, use sforceClient.Update and make sure you set the Id eg. newOpp.set("Id", theID);  

Hope that helps.

PradPrad