function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
jbardetjbardet 

javascript alert based on IF task.subject field

Hi all,

I'd like to add a javascript alert to an opportunity page. I've gotten it to be able to alert if criteria are met on Opportunity fields, but what about including Task information in this criteria?

i only want the alert to go off if there isn't a task on the opp page that has the word "approved" or "approval" in it. What can I add as the var task to do this?

Thanks so much for anyone who can steer me in the right direction. I'm pretty new to this, (clearly..)

function throwalert()
{
    // Begin by creating 3 variables for the criteria to be met.
    var oppname = "{!Opportunity.Name}";
    var isstatus = "{!Opportunity.StageName}";
    var quoteest = "{!Opportunity.Quote_Estimate__c}"
    quoteest = quoteest.replace(/[^\d\.]/g, "" ); // strip out all non-numeric characters
    quoteest = parseFloat( quoteest );

var msgg = "The quote estimate for this opportunity is equal to or greater than $50,000. Remember to submit this opportunity for approval. ";

var task = ??????????

if ((quoteest >= 50000) && (isstatus == "Proposal/Price Quote"))
    {
        alert(msgg);
    }
    else
    {
        window.parent.location.replace = "{URLFOR($Action.Opportunity.View, Opportunity.Id,null,true)};"
    }
}

SargeSarge

Hi,

Since an opportunity may have more than one tasks we need to look out for each tasks. Hence a query to task table would do here. Following may help with your req.

{!REQUIRESCRIPT("/soap/ajax/17.0/connection.js")}  
var isApproval = new Boolean(false); var taskResult = sforce.connection.query("Select Id, Subject from Task where whatId = '"+'{!Opportunity.Id}'+"' AND (Subject like 'Approv%' OR Subject like 'approv%')"); if( taskResult.size > 0 ){ isApproval = new Boolean(true); }