function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
infmsinfms 

Making custom objects Chatter-enabled

Hi,

I have a custom event object that contains name, date, time, etc.  I'd like updates to show up on a news feed whenever a user creates a new Event or makes any changes to the event.  I'd also like other users to be able to follow and comment on this event.  I realize that Chatter is new, but is there any documentation available that can guide me?

I am fairly new to the force.com environment and any links to resources would be helpful.  I appreciate all of your suggestions.  Thanks!

Best Answer chosen by Admin (Salesforce Developers) 
cloudcodercloudcoder

Chatter makes this very easy. Simply enable it through FeedTracking (Setup | Customize | Chatter | FeedTracking

You should see your custom object in the list. Select it, choose the fields you want to track, and you are done.

All Answers

cloudcodercloudcoder

Chatter makes this very easy. Simply enable it through FeedTracking (Setup | Customize | Chatter | FeedTracking

You should see your custom object in the list. Select it, choose the fields you want to track, and you are done.

This was selected as the best answer
infmsinfms

Wow, that was much easier than expected.  Thanks for the quick response!

Couple more additional questions. 

1.) When I first create the object, there is no news about it on my follower's feeds, until they follow the event manually.  Is there any way to have the creation of the event displayed on all of my follower's news feeds, without them having to follow the event first?

2.) I am also displaying these events on a custom site.  How can I create links on each event page that will let the user follow the event on Chatter?

Thanks again!

Message Edited by infms on 03-24-2010 04:35 PM
cloudcodercloudcoder