function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
Jayant DasJayant Das 

Need help with Android Hybrid App

Hi All,

I am a novice and 4 days old on mobile development. I have been trying to do a POC as a learning path and have successfully implemented the ContactExplorer example using the Local/Remote App Start Data. And now I wish to extend the functionality to Offline capabilities but am facing a blocker. I had initially started with Local (index.html), but since the Remote approach allows the flexibility of using VF page mobile components in the pages (https://github.com/forcedotcom/MobileComponents/tree/master/Visualforce/src/pages), hence moved to that approach. But currently am stuck with the navigation flow.

1. Remote App Start Data approach:

I modified the MobilePageWithComponents' page "Contact List" to navigate to MobilePage (<a href="#listPage" data-role="button">Contact List</a> TO <a href="/apex/MobilePage" data-role="button">Contact List</a>) so that I could display the contacts in split view. In bootconfig.js, I have pointed the Remote App Start Data to point to MobilePageWithComponents page. This works like a charm in browser but when I test this in emulator in eclipse, the navigation is stuck at MobilePageWithComponents page and is not forwarded to the MobilePage. I could see no logs as such and have been struggling to implement multi page flows in a mobile device.

2. Local App Start Data approach:

I wanted to extend the index.html to point to my VF pages, so that if the device is offline, at least the index.html is rendered and rest of the pages are rendered when the device is online. But am not sure how to invoke the VF page from index.html since the application would have started in the Local App Start Data approach.