function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
deanpagedeanpage 

Email 2 Case as service ?

I downloaded the email2case package and configured it. It seems to work fine when I run it from the command-line.

Now I want to run it in the background or as a service on a Windows 2003 Server.

Not being a Java developer I don't know how to package it so that it can run as a service.

I have tried to run the batch file in the background using the AT command but it fails.

I have tried looking at SrvAny technology from Microsoft Service Resouce Kit but this only works with EXEs.

Could someone please provide me some guidelines on how I can get Email2Case running a service.

Thanks,

Dean Page.
Applaud-IT

warrenlesterwarrenlester

We use firedaemon with no problems.

Warren

shughesshughes
I was able to get this working tonight on a Windows 2003 machine using the javaservice executable from (http://forge.objectweb.org/projects/javaservice/).

I installed the server by creating an install batch script:

installemail.bat
set INSTDIR=C:\salesforce_email_sync\EmailAgent
set TC_BIN=C:\salesforce_email_sync\EmailAgent
SET TC_START=com.sforce.SalesforceAgent -params %INSTDIR%\sfdcConfig.txt %INSTDIR%\log4j.properties

SET tcexe=%TC_BIN%\EmailtoCaseService.exe
copy JavaService.exe "%tcexe%" > nul

"%tcexe%" -install "SFDC Email to Case" "c:\program files\java\jre1.5.0_09\bin\client\jvm.dll"

-Djava.class.path="%INSTDIR%\Email2Case.jar;%INSTDIR%\lib\activation.jar;%INSTDIR%\lib\imap.jar;%INSTDIR%\lib\log4j-1.2.8.ja

r;%INSTDIR%\lib\mailapi.jar;%INSTDIR%\lib\partnerWSDL.jar;%INSTDIR%\lib\pop3.jar;%INSTDIR%\lib\smtp.jar;%INSTDIR%\lib\wsc.ja

r" -start %TC_START% -out "%INSTDIR%\logs\SalesforceAgent.log" -err "%INSTDIR%\logs\SalesforceAgent_err.log"

I've tested it out and it works well so far.

shughesshughes