function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
mruselessmruseless 

check for duplicates

I'm relatively new to the SForce Connector.

What I would like to do is use the connector to add new contacts. I have spreadsheets with contact data from vendor shows, and I would like to add them into SF. This is pretty easy to do with the SForce Connector, but is there a way to check for duplicates first?

To clarify, I would like the SF Connector to first query to find duplicates, then add any that are not already in SF.

Message Edited by mruseless on 03-28-2010 12:13 PM
ggsellggsell

The Excel Connector does not check for duplicates. However, you can accomplish this using some Excel data manipulation before you upload the new contacts.

The first thing you need to do is determine what defines a duplicate. The easiest way is to assume each contact will have a unique email address. In Excel, sort your list ascending by email address. Next insert a new column next to the email column. Here you can create a formula that says =if(a2=a1,"Duplicate","Unique"). This formula is comparing cell A2 to A1 and if they are a match then returning the word "Duplicate". Once you have done this, copy your formula column, paste special as Values, then delete any row with the Duplicate value.

Hope this helps. 

mruselessmruseless

Thanks for the suggestion!

Too bad that the SFC can't check an Excel list of email addresses against those already in SF. 

But it doesn't seem like too much work to first query SF for all contacts in a particular account, then sort the list against the new data and remove any duplicates, then Insert into SF any that remain.

ggsellggsell

That is a good idea to query salesforce first for existing contacts.

For more advanced deduplication, check out Demand Tools by CRM Fusion. It is the top of the line for mass deduplication.