function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
megmooPDXmegmooPDX 

custom VisualForce page for task

I would like to create a custom visualforce page for creating a new task. Scenario: user clicks a button on the Activities related list on the parent object. That button launches a VF force page with both standard fields and custom fields for the Task. User populates those fields, then clicks Save. 

I've tried all sorts of things hobbled together from research online, but so far, no luck. 

(I'm a newbie at VF and apex)

Here's my current VF Page code:

<apex:page standardController="Task" extensions="extension_task">
<apex:form >
<apex:pageBlock mode="edit">
<apex:pageblockButtons >
<apex:commandButton value="Save" action="{!save}" />
</apex:pageblockButtons>
        <apex:pageBlockSection title="Quick Edits" columns="1">
            <apex:inputField value="{!Task.Whatid}"/>
            <apex:inputField value="{!Task.Subject}"/>
            <apex:inputField value="{!Task.Representative__c}"/>
            <apex:inputField value="{!Task.Category__c}"/>
            <apex:inputField value="{!Task.Comments__c}" style="width:400px; height:200px"/>
            <apex:inputField value="{!Task.Perceived_Call_Value__c}"/>
            <apex:inputField value="{!Task.Referred_To__c}"/>
            <apex:inputField value="{!Task.Interaction__c}"/>
        </apex:pageBlockSection>
    </apex:pageBlock>
</apex:form>

</apex:page>

Here's the apex class extension:

public class extension_task{

Task task = new Task();

public extension_task(ApexPages.StandardController controller) {
      this.task = (Task)controller.getRecord();  
    }

}