function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
Adaniels117Adaniels117 

Help with Trigger Error: Attempt to de-reference a null object

Hey Everyone,

Beginner here, hoping if somebody could help me with my trigger. I'm attempting to create a new contract when a custom object is updated.

It allows me to save the trigger, but when i update the custom object I'm getting the following error:

Apex trigger AutoContract caused an unexpected exception, contact your administrator: AutoContract: execution of AfterUpdate caused by: System.NullPointerException: Attempt to de-reference a null object: Trigger.AutoContract: line 11, column 1

Here is the code i'm using:

/////////////////////////////////////////////////

trigger AutoContract on Zuora__SubscriptionProductCharge__c (After Update) {
List<Contract> listContracts= new List<Contract>();
for(Zuora__SubscriptionProductCharge__c S: Trigger.new){
Contract C= new Contract();
C.Description=S.Zuora__ProductDescription__c;
C.accountid=S.Zuora__Account__r.Id;
C.Type_of_Sale__c=S.Zuora__ProductName__c;
C.Payment_Plan__c=S.Zuora__BillingPeriod__c;
C.Contract_Total__c=S.Zuora__ExtendedAmount__c;
C.StartDate=S.Zuora__EffectiveStartDate__c;
C.Account.Name=S.Zuora__Account__r.Name;
C.User__c='00550000002TLtx';
listContracts.add(c);
}

if(listContracts.isEmpty()== false)
{Database.insert(listContracts);

}

}

//////////////////////////////////////////////////

It seems that the line that is causing the error is the line where i'm trying to map the Contract account name. Can anybody help explain why i'm getting the error and what I need to add to fix?

Thank you!
Best Answer chosen by Adaniels117
sfdc_ninjasfdc_ninja