function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
EricSSHEricSSH 

Multidimensional maps

I'm creating a trigger to do some validations and I have a map that is Country_Key__c, Description_Name__c, Name.  I would like to get them all into a map so I can do some validations.  I have googled and search this form for some answers, but I am very new to Salesforce and Apex and do not grasp many of the concepts..  I would like to create these maps to do be multidimensional..

trigger OverrideAddressTrigger on Sampling__c (before insert) {

Map<String, Validation_Country__c> validCountries = new Map<String, Validation_Country__c>();
    Map<String, Validation_Region__c> validRegions = new Map<String, Validation_Region__c>();

//Getting Country Validation.
    For(Validation_Country__c obj : [Select Id,Country_Name__c,Transportation_Zone__C FROM Validation_Country__c]){
        validCountries.put( obj.Country_Name__c,obj);
}
    //Getting Region Validation
    For(Validation_Region__c objR : [Select Id,Country_Key__c,Description__c,Name FROM Validation_Region__c]){
        validRegions.put( objR.Description__c,objR);
        validRegions.put( objR.Country_Key__c,objR);
}

For( Sampling__c s : Trigger.new){
        IF(s.Country__c != null){
            IF(validRegions.containsKey(s.Country__c) && (validRegions.contains(s.State_Province__c)){//Not quite right.. logic? 
                s.Country__c == validCountries.get(s.Country__c);//Wrong needs fixing

}
    }
   }
}

NishBNishB
Hi,