function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
dev_sfdc1dev_sfdc1 

Trigger Update Need some idea

Hi,
I'm having scenario in task object,
If the checkbox "Send Notification Email " checkbox is checked and  "Status" is updated, then send an email to user. If the checkbox is not checked, the user will not receive an email.How to achieve this ?

Right now I'm thinking that through workflow is not possible.
So my second option is trigger.
But here my code is working only if status is updated then user will get mail. In trigger, don't have idea to set condition for checkbox is checked or not..

I'm new to trigger concept pls help to achieve this....

trigger Task_Email on Task (before update) {

Set<Id> ownerIds = new Set<Id>();

for(Task tsk: Trigger.New)
        ownerIds.add(tsk.ownerId);

Map<Id, User> userMap = new Map<Id,User>([select Name, Email from User where Id in :ownerIds]);
    for(Task tsk : Trigger.New)
    {
        User theUser = userMap.get(tsk.ownerId);
        Messaging.SingleEmailMessage mail = new Messaging.SingleEmailMessage();
        String[] toAddresses = new String[] {theUser.Email};
        mail.setToAddresses(toAddresses);    // Set the TO addresses
        mail.setSubject('A task owned by you has been updated');    // Set the subject
        // Next, create a string template. Specify {0}, {1} etc. in place of actual values.
        // You can replace these values with a call to String.Format.
        String template = 'Hello {0}, \nYour task has been modified. Here are the details - \n\n';
        template+= 'Status- {1}\n';

List<String> args = new List<String>();
        args.add(theUser.Name);
       args.add(tsk.Status);

String formattedHtml = String.format(template, args);

mail.setPlainTextBody(formattedHtml);
        Messaging.SendEmail(new Messaging.SingleEmailMessage[] {mail});
    }
}