function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
KSriSanKSriSan 

Looking for career in Salesforce

Hi!

I have about 20 years experience in IT industry.  I started my career with Mainframes during Y2K times.  Later managed various projects.  PMP certified.  I am also some what exposed to client/server, java and Data Wearhousing technologies.  I have been managing projects without knowing much about technology.  I am not feeling comfortable managing projects without knowing much about technology.  I am also not growing well managerially.  I have a jeal to learn new technolgies.  I found salesforce is very interesting.  I started learning it.

Can I see a career in salesforce if I start at this stage of my career.  What type of jobs I can choose or suit for?  Please suggest.

Thanks in advance and Best Regards.
Ashish_SFDCAshish_SFDC
Hi , 

You have a great profile and exposure. You can definately go upto the Salesforce Architect Level in Force.com platform. 

Most of the Current Salesforce Developers are ones who were earlier Developers of other technology like Java, C#, Peoplesoft, Seibel etc.

And more over APEX the Force.com language is also considered as a Subset of Java - which is also Object Oriented. 

It will be very easy for an existing developer to learn Salesforce. 

The only change or difference is due to Cloud Aspect which has its own style and fashion of programming and limits.

If you have any specific questions in terms of learning - you are always welcome to post on the boards and explore the developer.salesforce.com site which has been recently upgraded. 

Regards,
Ashish

EmForce AdministratorEmForce Administrator