function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
DannyTKDannyTK 

Attempting to clean up trigger to avoid a System.NullPointerException: Attempt to de-reference a null object error message

Good Morning,

I'm not a developer but I put together a trigger to update a checkbox field (Trigger_Email_on_Outstanding_Task__c) on the related Lead Object if the corresponding field on a Task (Trigger_email_on_Outstanding_Task__c) is checked (by a workflow):
____________________________________________________________________________________
trigger TriggerTaskNotification on Task (after insert, after update) {

Set<Id> leadIds=new Set<Id>();

for(Task t:trigger.new){
        if(t.Trigger_Email_on_Outstanding_Task__c==true){
            if(String.valueOf(t.whoId).startsWith('00Q')==TRUE){//check if the task is associated with a lead

if( !leadIds.contains(t.whoid)){   //Dont forget '!'           
                                 leadIds.add(t.whoId);
                      }//if3

}//if 2
        }//if 1
    }//for

/* List<Lead> leadsToUpdate=[SELECT Id, Trigger_Email_on_Outstanding_Task__c FROM Lead WHERE Id IN :leadIds AND Trigger_Email_on_Outstanding_Task__c= True]; */

Map<Id,Lead>  relatedleads = new Map<Id,Lead>([SELECT Id, Trigger_Email_on_Outstanding_Task__c FROM Lead WHERE Id IN :leadIds]);

For(Task t2 : trigger.new){
            if(t2.Trigger_Email_on_Outstanding_Task__c==true){

if(relatedleads.get(t2.whoid) != null){  //if task is related to lead

//make lead field to 'checked'
                                     relatedleads.get(t2.whoid).Trigger_Email_on_Outstanding_Task__c = true;
                        }//if2

}//if1

}//for

try{
        update relatedleads.values();
    }catch(DMLException e){
        system.debug('Leads were not all properly updated.  Error: '+e);
    }
}