function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
Raj88Raj88 

delete associated contact records using trigger

Hi,

I have an Custom object 'Price__c' and an standard object 'Contact'. When an custom  object 'Price__c' is created, 'Contact' object is also created. My question is when we delete the 'Contact' record the corresponding 'Price__c' object record must also be get deleted. Both are not related to each other but they have 'Account' object as lookup fields in both object.

I am new to coding part can someone help me.

Code:
trigger DeleteContact on Contact (before delete) {
if(Trigger.isDelete) {
for(Contact c: Trigger.old) {
Account acc = [select id from Account];
Price__c mpe =  [Select Id,Name,Account__r.Name From Price__c where id =: acc.id];
Contact con = [Select Id,Name,Contact.Account.Name From Contact where id =: acc.id];
delete con;
}
}
Best Answer chosen by Raj88
ShashForceShashForce
The code you wrote is not properly bulkified. I'm pasting here a bulkified sample code for your requirement, which you may have to slightly modify for your need:

list<price__c> pricelist = new list<price__c>();
    list<price__c> pricesToDelete = new list<price>();
    list<Id> accIds = new list<Id>();

for(contact con:trigger.old){
        accIds.add(con.accountId);
    }

pricelist = [select Id,name,account__c,Primary_Role__c,Secondary_Role__c,Email__c,Last_Name__c from pricelist where account__c in :accIds];

for(price__c pr:pricelist){
        for(contact c:trigger.old){
            if( (pr.account__c==c.accountId) && (pr.primary_role__c==c.Primary_Contact_Type__c) && (pr.Secondary_Role__c==c.Contact_Type__c) && (pr.Email__c==c.Email) && (pr.Last_Name__c==c.LastName) ){
                pricesToDelete.add(pr);    
            }
        }
    }

delete pricesToDelete;
}