function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
Tammie SilberTammie Silber 

I am using the Enterprise Edition of SF. Trigger to Update Contact Object based upon change in date on Asset Object

Using the Enterprise edition of Salesforce, I need to write a trigger and am unsure of the code that I need to write. I am just starting to learn about triggers and APEX coding. I want to accomplish the following task which cannot be done via a workflow because the asset object cannot connect to a contact object field (according to salesforce support). 

When the asset field of "License Expiration Date" changes to X date, I want the Contact "Role" field to automatically update
Example is as follows: An asset is a license file in my organization. Asset License Expiration Date field is May 15, 2014. Current calendar date is May 14, 2014. Therefore the license has expired and the customer is no longer a current customer. Therefore, I need to write a trigger to automatically update the Contact Role field from "Current Customer" to "Previous User". Im not sure how to write the trigger coding to make this possible. 

Thanks!

ShashForceShashForce
Hi,

To write the trigger, we need to understand the details of how the Asset record and the Contact record are associated. If you can provide the same, I can provide sample trigger code.

Thanks,
Shashank
Tammie SilberTammie Silber
Hi Shashank,

Thanks for your quick reply! In my organization, any time we send out a license to our software, we track the product that we sold, as well as the issue and expiration date of that product under the asset object. The asset is created under the contact record.