function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
BennettTranBennettTran 

Button to pull data from fields in parent case

Hello,

I am new to APEX and was hoping someone could help me.  I am looking to create a class for a button on the case object.  I would like the button to be placed on child cases and retrieve data from certain fields from the parent case.  

I recently created a class for a button on the parent case that will create new child cases and pre-populate certain fields but am not sure how to reverse-engineer my solution for the use case described above.

Can someone please help me write this class or help me write the foundation?

Thanks in advanced.
Best Answer chosen by BennettTran
Vinit_KumarVinit_Kumar
I have already incorated that it would only fire when an user selects Parent case.Now,I have updated it to run only for Record Type= Integration.

Try below code :-

trigger populateChildcase(before update)

List<Id> parentCaseIds = new List<Id>();

RecordType rt = [select id from RecordType where DeveloperName='Integration' and SobjectType='Case'];

for(Case c : Trigger.new)
{
if(c.RecordTypeId==rt.id)
	{
		parentCaseIds.add(c.ParentId);
	}
}

//Query the parentcase Values,yoou need to query all fields which you want to be populated in yiur child case
Map<Id,Case> caseMap =new Map<Id,Case> ([select id,CaseNumber,Origin from Case where Id in:parentCaseIds]);

//populate the child case with related Parentcase values.

{
	if(!caseMap.IsEmpty() && c.RecordTypeId==rt.id)
	{
		c.Origin = caseMap.get(c.ParentId).Origin;
	}
}

All Answers

Vinit_KumarVinit_Kumar
You can query your parent case details based on ParentId and then populate your child case.Go through below sample code

//Query the parentcase Values
Case parentCase = [select id,CaseNumber,Origin from Case where parentId=<Id of parentCase> limit 1};