function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
PlainviewPlainview 

Logic to return "null" if Contact Country is not United States.

Hello,

I am a new System Admin. obliged to function above my ability - so what else is new?

We use an Apex Class "ProvisioningInfo," which is tied to a Visualforce page button users may select on the Contract object layout that feeds the Billing Contact information into a system called Back Office. I would like to know the "what" and "where" to add some logic to the class so that it returns "null" if the Billing Contact country is not the United States.  Thanks for your time!

Here are some screen shots of what I believe are the relevant areas in the Apex code:

User-added image
User-added image

Best Answer chosen by Plainview
PlainviewPlainview
This just in! The code above had a few issues, so we cooked-up some more and it worked beautifully. Here's the change; remove what's above and in its place:

if(admincontact.contact.mailingcountry == 'United States')
{ boma.StateId = BOlookupMaps.getStateISO(adminContact.Contact.MailingState); }
else
{ boma.StateId = ''; }

All Answers

Daniel B ProbertDaniel B Probert
so just to be clear you are saying you only want to see records with the country United States - all the rest should be ignored?

if so then add

AND Countact.MailingCountry == 'United States'

on the end of line 649 & 670

thanks
dan
PlainviewPlainview
Hi Dan,

Thanks for your response. Ah, I wish that was it but ... no, that's not quite it.

If the country of the Billing Contact is not the United States, we want to automatically fill in the field with "null" or "n/a" so tha that the user will have to complete it and so we won't get an error message. Back Office is not great at recognizing foreign country codes. Is that clearer? Sorry for the confusion.

Best,
Julien