function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
Tina DamTina Dam 

Error Message on Test Class System.DmlException: Insert failed. First exception on row 0; first error: CANNOT_INSERT_UPDATE_ACTIVATE_ENTITY, UpdateElevateSurveyResponded: execution of AfterInsert

Hi,

I'm very new to coding and am getting an error message every time I run my test class.

I wrote a simple trigger for a custom object "TIMBA_Survey_Summaries" that has a lookup on the Contact object. The trigger updates the Contact checkbox field "Elevate_Survey_Responded__c" to TRUE when a new Timba Survey Summary record with "TIMBASURVEYS__Complete_Survey_Name__c == 'Elevate Survey'" is inserted into the system.

Here is the trigger:

// Update Contact field: "Elevate_Survey_Responded__c" to TRUE when a new TIMBASURVEYS__Survey_Summary__c record is inserted

trigger UpdateElevateSurveyResponded on TIMBASURVEYS__Survey_Summary__c (after insert) {

// Will store related Contact record ID

map< id, contact > contacts = new map< id, contact >();

// Create trigger for new or selected TIMBASURVEYS__Survey_Summary__c

for(TIMBASURVEYS__Survey_Summary__c record:trigger.new)       

if(record.TIMBASURVEYS__Complete_Survey_Name__c == 'Elevate Survey')
if(record.TIMBASURVEYS__Complete_Survey_Name__c != null)

// Update checkbox field on the parent Contact record to TRUE   

contacts.put(record.TIMBASURVEYS__RelatedContact__c, new contact(id=record.TIMBASURVEYS__RelatedContact__c, Elevate_Survey_Responded__c = TRUE));     

update contacts.values();

This is the test class:

@isTest
private class UpdateElevateSurveyResponded {

static testmethod void UpdateElevateSurveyResponded() {
    User u = [SELECT Id FROM User WHERE Alias = 'kdam'];
        // set up some test data       
        Contact c1 = new Contact(
            LastName='Dam'
            );
        insert c1;