function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
Dipil JainDipil Jain 

Getting Save error: Illegal assignment from LIST<Asset> to SOBJECT:Order_Line_Item__c

Hi All,

i'm new to apex code. I'm trying to update the fields Pending_Activation_Date__c and Pending_Deactivation_Date__c on the Order__c object using a trigger. my Asset object has a reference to Order_Line_Item__c object which in-turn has a reference to Order__c object. the trigger is firing on update of Asset Object. below is the trigger code from eclipse IDE.

trigger UpdateOrder on Asset (Before Update) {
    Order_Line_Item__c tempOrderLine;
    Order__c tempOrder, OrderToUpdate;

if(trigger.isBefore)
    {
     System.debug('Inside UpdateOrder');
        //It will update the pending Activation and pending deactivation picklists on order object
        for(Asset astObj : trigger.new)
        {
         System.debug('Processing Asset Id '+astObj.id);
         tempOrderLine = [select order_line_item__r.id from Asset where Asset.Id =: astObj.Id limit 1];
         System.debug('Corresponding Order Line Item '+tempOrderLine.Name);
         tempOrder= [select order__r.id from Order_Line_Item__c where id =: tempOrderLine.id limit 1];
         System.debug('Corresponding Order '+tempOrder.Name);
         OrderToUpdate = [select Pending_Activation_Dates__c, Pending_Deactivation_Dates__c from Order__c where order__c.id=:tempOrder.Id limit 1];
         if(astObj.ActivationDate__c!=null){
          tempOrder.Pending_Activation_Dates__c='M6 Effective From Dates';
         }
         if(astObj.UsageEndDate!=null){
          tempOrder.Pending_Deactivation_Dates__c='M6 Effective To Dates';
         }
        }
        if(OrderToUpdate.Id!=null){
         update OrderToUpdate;
        }

}
}