function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
econ242econ242 

HELP on writing a test class...PLEASE!!!

Hello,

So I'm a newbie to writing triggers and need help on wrting a test class so I can deploy to production...here is my situation:

I have a trigger that updates a hidden field on an Account record that was needed in order to track changes on a seperate field that is a formula field. When the field value changes, the trigger runs and captures the previous value in the Account History. Here is my trigger code in my sandbox:

trigger BusinessRatingChange on Account (before update)
{
    for(Account a:Trigger.new)
    {
        if(system.trigger.OldMap.get(a.Id).Business_Rating__c != system.trigger.NewMap.get(a.Id).Business_Rating__c)
        {
            a.Business_Rating_History__c = a.Business_Rating__c;
            }
            }
            }

This trigger works perfect in my sandbox, but with my limited knowledge on triggers and writing test classes...is there anyone out there that can assist me, or guide me to where I can understand better?? Bad news is i need to get this deployed QUICK!!!  :(

Thanks so much!!!

Eric
James LoghryJames Loghry
Eric, this is probably one of the most frequently asked questions on here.  Try doing a quick search and you'll find lots of tips and tricks around creating tests for triggers.  In particular, check out this thread that I answered on the same topic yesterday: https://developer.salesforce.com/forums/ForumsMain?id=906F0000000AdhRIAS
Clay AshworthClay Ashworth
Eric,