function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
SalesforceASalesforceA 

Update Parent Text Field with Child "Name" values

I have a Parent object (Orders) with a Child object (States). The Child object is using the standard Name field as the "State" field.

I want to list all the UNIQUE states in a concatenated Text field on the Orders object.

My business allows for the same "State" to be related multiple times to the Parent but I only want to show each State one time in the text field that is populated by the trigger.

I'm a newbie when it comes to Triggers any help would be greatly appreciated!
Best Answer chosen by SalesforceA
logontokartiklogontokartik
Hope the below trigger helps. Make sure you change the object name and field names accordingly

trigger updateOrder on State__c (after insert, after update){

Set<Id> parentIds = new Set<ID>();

// Get all the Parent Ids (Orders ) in the Set
	for(State__c s : Trigger.new){
		parentIds.add(s.Order__c);
	}
	// QUery the Parent orders.
	List<Order__c> orders = new List<Order__c>();
	// Use the Child relations so you get all the related States for the Order Parent Object
	orders = [Select Id, Name, UniqueStates__c, (Select Id, Name from States__c) from Order__c where Id in :parentIds];

// Iterate over each parent and child states
	for(Order__c o : orders){
			if(o.States__c != null && o.States__c.size()>0){
				for(State__c s: o.States__c){
					if(!o.UniqueStates__c.containsIgnoreCase(s.Name)){ // Check if the State is already in the Order State Field. if not add it otherwise skip
						o.UniqueStates__c += s.Name + ';';
					}
				}
			}
	}
	// Update the orders
	update orders;
}

All Answers

Hope the below trigger helps. Make sure you change the object name and field names accordingly

trigger updateOrder on State__c (after insert, after update){

}