function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
Abhishek KedariAbhishek Kedari 

Passing custom object fields to controller through visualforce page

Hi All,

I am new to salesforce developemnt.
   I want to know, how I can access fields from custom objects to my apex controller through visualforce page.
   To be more detail about my question - 
   - I have a custom object 'shipment' and some fields created for that object (Fileds are like dropdown, multiselect, long text etc)
   - I have visual force page and I am not able to show fields like drop down list with values defined in my custom object (values are predefined in object fields with type as picklist) Anyone knows how I can do that ?
   -  and after that I want to send those values to my controller from my visualforce page where I can write my actual business logic and process that data.

Let me know if I am not clear. Thanks is advance.

Best Regards,
Abhishek
AshlekhAshlekh
Hi,

In MVC stucture you have difined the a object called Shipment so you have difiend the Model Layer.

Now you need to show the value on page so you need a controller(your apex class) and page (view).

Suppose you have a object  "Shipement". In object schema you will find the API name of this object like "Shippment__C". And suppose you have dified two fields X and Y  and the api name wil be X__c and Y__c respectly.

Your apex class will  be

Class ShipmentController
{
   List<shipment__c> shipList{set;get;} // we use set and get if you want access this variable on page
   public ShipmentController(){
        shipList  = [select id,name ,x__c,Y__c from Shippment__C limit 10];
   };
}

your page code

<apex:page controller="ShipmentController" >
 <apex:form>
    <apex:pageBlock>
       <apex:pageBlockTable var="t" value="shipList">
       <apex:column value="t.name" headerValue="Name"/>