function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
Joe StolzJoe Stolz 

Workflow tasks due dates weekday trigger

Our Org has a number of workflow generated tasks to help our users know what to do for an opportunity depending on which stage the opportunity is in. This is working well, but we are running into the issue of tasks coming due on weekends. I know this has been asked a number of times and I have done some digging and found an answer here (https://developer.salesforce.com/forums/ForumsMain?id=906F00000008uTgIAI) that worked quite well for a specific subject.

I am very new to Apex triggers and could use some help customizing the code to only work for opportunities of certain record types. Here is the code I am using:
trigger WeekendTasks on Task (after insert)
{ for (Task tas : Trigger.new)
  {  if (Opp.RecordType == 'RPA NTE-Perm' , 'RPA NTE(No Bid)' , 'RPA RFQ' , 'RPA Capital')
   {   Date origin = Date.newInstance(1900,1,6);
      Date due = tas.ActivityDate;
        Integer x = origin.daysBetween(due);
     Integer day = Math.mod(x,7);
     if (day < 2 )
     {    Task tt = new Task (
          Id = tas.Id,
           ActivityDate = (tas.ActivityDate + 2),
        Description = String.valueOf(day)    );
           update tt;
     } 
   }
  }
}
This trigger does not work as you probably already knew. If I replace the bold underlined line with:
if (tas.Subject == 'Change Stage - Awarded')
Everything works perfectly, but I do not want the trigger to fire off the Subject.  Could someone help me out with how to fire this trigger only for tasks associated with opportunity record types RPA RFQ, RPA NTE-Perm, RPA Capital and RPA NTE(No Bid)?

Thank you
Best Answer chosen by Joe Stolz
Avidev9Avidev9
Ok to do so, you have to Query all the Opps and then Check the condtions.
Few steps
  • Check if a Opp is associated in WhatId