function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
SF ADMINISTRATORSF ADMINISTRATOR 

Returning Logical SalesForce API Values?

Greetings Folks

I am new to this and have been thrown in to this project.  I am wondering if you can tell me why the following query returns garbled
strings as opposed to logical values.

For example, this should a Bin Location field (gii__BinLocation__c) from a custom table (gii__ProductInventory__c).  And it does, in fact,
do that.  But the field returned should be something like "F-5".  Instead, it looks like "a0Mi0000002lir9EAA".

Got any ideas?

Dim results As JacoApex.QueryResult = Nothing
        results = bindingService.query("select gii__BinLocation__c from gii__ProductInventory__c WHERE Product_Name__c = '" & productid & "' ")

If results.records Is Nothing Then
            Return ""
        Else
            Dim record As JacoApex.sObject = results.records(0)
            Dim sfval As String = getFieldValue(gii__BinLocation__c", record.Any)
            Return sfval
        End If

Jean-NoelJean-Noel
Hello,

Is the field gii__BinLocation__c a child in a lookup relationship ?
If it's the case, you'll need to use gii__BinLocation__r.Name

Hi Jean.  Thanks.  That does not seem to throw an error but it returns nothing. 

gii__BinLocation__c is a Lookup field.

Jean-NoelJean-Noel
As it's a lookup field, the ID is the value stored in it, you'll need to update the query to return the value too like the following.

Dim results As JacoApex.QueryResult = Nothing
        results = bindingService.query("select gii__BinLocation__c, gii__BinLocation__r.Name from gii__ProductInventory__c WHERE Product_Name__c = '" & productid & "' ")

Return ""
        Else
            Dim sfval As String = getFieldValue(gii__BinLocation__r.Name", record.Any)
            Return sfval
        End If