function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
KimBaileyKimBailey 

How Do I Sum records from another custom object?

Hi,

I'm a PHP and Wordpress developer, new to SF.

I created a new custom object, called "referrals".

Every record in this object has a couple of fields and also an "email" field.

In my accounts object, I created a new field - "number of referrals".

In this field, I want to get the total number of referrals that has the same email address as the account.

What's the best way to do that?

Thanks!
Brian FordBrian Ford
Does the Referrals object have a master-detail or lookup relationship with the Account? If it's a master-detail relationship, you can create a rollup summary field on the account and select the Referral fields you need to summarize.

If it's a lookup relationship, you'll need a trigger to summarize the fields. You'll find some sample triggers for this through a quick Google search.
James LoghryJames Loghry
Kim,  there are a couple of ways you could do this, but the best way you could do this declaritively would be to:

1)  Create a relationship between referrals and accounts. Depending on your model, this may be a 1 to many relationship, or a many to many relationship.  For the latter, you would look into setting up what's called a "Junction object".  Your relationship between Account and either the Referral or Referral Junction object would e a Master Detail.  This would allow you to use a "Roll up Summary field" to count the number of referrals for that given account.  This may or may not involve a trigger to establish the referral -> account relationship, depending on how your referrals are created.