function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
Haris Osmanagic, B&HHaris Osmanagic, B&H 

Force.com platform vs Custom integration - what are the pros and cons?

Hi all,

What are the pros and cons of
* developing an application integration with Salesforce using Force.com platform (packages), and
* developing it (in Java) using SF's SOAP/REST/etc. API.

The points I'm especially interested are:
* dev. experience (availability of support, tools, etc.)
* user experience (installation, permission stuff etc.)
* limits (in the sense of manipulating an organization's data, or in other words: is there something which can be done with an org's data using Force.com platform that can't be done using it's SOAP/REST/etc. APIs?)

(I'm a Salesforce newbie, so I may haved missed the right terminology at some points.)

Thanks in advance!

Haris
pbattissonpbattisson
A lot of these decisions are use case dependent, could you provide more information?
Thanks for your interest in the question, Paul!

Basically, I'm trying to write an integration, which will work with a set of user data, of variable size: may be couple of objects but can also be the whole set of objects user has in his account, it's a user decision. The user may want to perform a search in his account's data to select what he'd like to be processed. The data will be sent it to a 3rd party service for processing and retrieve it back (to begin with, the retrieval will be user-initiated).
pbattissonpbattisson
In that case you would be better off doing it on Salesforce (assuming I am understanding correctly that the data is all stored there). This will make the searching quicker and easier and you can simply call out to the 3rd party service to submit the data for processing.