function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
Nicholas MelonasNicholas Melonas 

How can I trigger an event date to auto populate an oppportunity custom field?

I am new to Apex Coding / Triggers and I am stuck. I'm trying to create a trigger where when an event is created with a specific subject line, it automatically populates an "Appointment Date" custom field on the Opportunity object. Where do I begin? Thank you!
Sumitkumar_ShingaviSumitkumar_Shingavi
You can simply do like below:
Opp.Date__c = System.today() + 10; //Opp is instance of Opportunity
PS: if this answers your question then hit Like and mark it as solution!
Vishnu_SFDCVishnu_SFDC
Try the below trigger.
trigger updateOpp on event(after insert){
List<String> subject = new list<string>();
map<string,date> dates = new map<string,date>();
for(event e : trigger.new)
{
subject.add(e.subject);
dates.put(e.subject,e.appointment_date__c);
}
//get the list of opps based on the subject field
list<opportunity> opp = [SELECT Id,Name From Opportunity Where Name in : subject];
for(opportunity o : opp)
{
 o.Appointment_date__c = dates.get(o.name);
}
update opp;
}
 please like and mark this as solution if this solves you problem.

You can do this using Workflows simply where your Subject line will be specific Subject and Appointment_date__c will be "Today()+10" or something.

PS: if this answers your question then hit Like and mark it as solution!
@Sumitkumar_Shingavi I would prefer doing a workflow! However I'm having trouble because the event date is on the Event object while my custom field is on the Opportunity object. The workflow isn't allowing me to do a field update on the Opportunity object. Does that make sense? What am I doing wrong?

You will need a trigger for this. I thought you have that field in opp record only