function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
Amanda ReamAmanda Ream 

Trigger to Create a Roll-up Summary Field on a Hierarchial Lookup Relationship.

I am an APEX newbie trying super hard to teach myself to code but this challenge is proving pretty difficult for me. The situtation is that we have a hierarchial lookup relationship in Opportunities where child Opportunities can be linked to parents. I have found that it is possible to write a trigger to do a roll-up summary from a lookup to another object but I have not found anything that says it is possible in the context of hierarchial lookups. So my first questions is, is this possible?

If so, I found some sample code on this site (http://blog.jeffdouglas.com/2009/07/30/roll-up-summary-fields-with-lookup-relationships-part-1/) that demostrates how to do this between two separate objects but I am having a little trobule translating. This is pretty complex compared to the triggers I have been able to write before so my second question pertains to a section of the code I don't understand. What exactly is the bolded part of the code doing? I have read about for loops and if statements but this is more complex than anything I have ever seen. Any help is much appreciated :)

trigger InventoryItemRollup on Inventory_Item__c (after delete, after insert, after update) {

Set<id> shipmentIds = new Set<id>();
List<shipment__c> shipmentsToUpdate = new List<shipment__c>();

for (Inventory_Item__c item : Trigger.new)
shipmentIds.add(item.Shipment__c);

if (Trigger.isUpdate || Trigger.isDelete) {
for (Inventory_Item__c item : Trigger.old)

}
// get a map of the shipments with the number of items
Map<id,Shipment__c> shipmentMap = new Map<id,Shipment__c>([select id, items__c from Shipment__c where id IN :shipmentIds]);