function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
Miguel Gonzalez 4Miguel Gonzalez 4 

trigger (after insert) - load List data to custom SObject

I'm working on a trigger project in the Sandbox.  It's supposed to set off anytime someone updates the field "FTP_to_Case__c" on "FTP Actions".  I have the initial stage, to set activate the trigger, set up, but I'm new to SFDC and how to take that "Action_Date_Time__c" data collected and transfer it to my new custom object "Last_Upload" (which is on the object "Case") is where I'm a bit lost. 

Here is where I stand so far.
My coding for an Apex Trigger...so far.  I've declared the List, what I want to initiate the Trigger, and the Update command.
Any guidance will be much appreciated!

Miguel G.

Best Answer chosen by Miguel Gonzalez 4
pconpcon
This code should get you started

trigger UpdateFTPCases on FTP_Action__c  (after insert) {
    List<Case> casesToUpdate = new List<Case>();

for (FTP_Action__c f: trigger.new) {
        if (f.FTP_to_Case__c != null) {
            casesToUpdate.add(new Case(
                Id = f.FTP_to_Case__c,
                Last_Upload__c = f.Action_Date_Time__c
            ));
        }
    }

if (!casesToUpdate.isEmpty()) {
        update casesToUpdate;
    }
}

What it does is iterate over all of your FTP_Action__c objects and then creates a "new" Case record with the Last_Upload__c set to the Action_Date_Time__c.  Since we set the Id of the case to the FTP_to_Case__c field when we call the update casesToUpdate we will update the record with that Id.

All Answers

pconpcon
This code should get you started

trigger UpdateFTPCases on FTP_Action__c  (after insert) {
    List<Case> casesToUpdate = new List<Case>();

for (FTP_Action__c f: trigger.new) {
        if (f.FTP_to_Case__c != null) {
            casesToUpdate.add(new Case(