function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
Michael AllenMichael Allen 

Attaching child records using ID held on parent

Hi all,

I'm very new to Apex, but am convinced this scenario is possible. Problem is I can't find any examples anywhere, which surprises me.

I have a text field on Account called 'Originating_Lead__c' containing the 18 char ID of a Lead.

On the Lead is a lookup to Account.

I want to insert the ID of the Account record into the Account lookup field on the Lead record that corresponds to the ID held in the Originating_Lead__c field on Account.

I'm know I can't do this declaratively as it's "going down the tree", but I'm surprised this issue hasn't crept up before on here - have trawled right through and haven't found anything. Does anybody know of any examples of similar triggers for similar problems? 

Have browsed and used this community extensively but never posted a question - never needed to!

Thanks in advance.
Michael
mjohnson-TICmjohnson-TIC
So when Originating_Lead__c is entered on Account, you want the Lead entered in this field to relate back to the Account? If that's the situation, try below Account trigger (note, the way I wrote it is not necessary - but will best avoid any other dml/trigger governor limits).

trigger AccountTrigger on Account (after insert, after update) {
	list<Lead> ll = new list<Lead>();
	for (Integer i = 0; i < trigger.new.size(); i++){
		if((trigger.isInsert && trigger.new[i].Originating_Lead__c != null) || (trigger.isUpdate && trigger.new[i].Originating_Lead__c != trigger.old[i].Originating_Lead__c )){
			Lead l = new Lead(Id=trigger.new[i].Originating_Lead__c);
			l.Account__c = trigger.new[i].Id;
			ll.add(l);
		}
	}
	if(ll != null){
		update ll;
	}
}

Hi mjohnson,

Thanks so much for this. It works a treat.